City Council Districts

This year’s upcoming municipal election will be the first time in nearly 100 years that Detroiters will elect the city council from defined districts. Historically, Detroit’s nine City Council members have been elected at-large with each of them representing the city as a whole rather than a particular district. However, with the passing of Detroit’s new City Charter, which took effect on January 1, 2012, only two members are elected at-large, and seven members are elected by district.

Use this interactive tool to explore the new districts!

Note on Source: All figures have been calculated by aggregating census block group data to council districts. There are minor differences between council district boundaries and the boundaries of block groups.

See Also